Apocalypse Road 2….

You have to start with the infrastructure, right?  Ok, so I’ve gotten a lot of complements on my road sections.  Problem is, I don’t have enough of them and carving the cracks in them takes forever.  So I’m trying something new.  I’m going to try molding them.  I didn’t carve them either.  I got a sheet of plastic (note to self: use a bigger one next time) poured a street-full of Smooth-It(tm) and when it dried, I carefully and artfully bent the plastic, cracking the plaster…then I made a Lego form and poured in the RTV silicone.  My resin catalyst went south on me, so I have to pick up some on the way home.  Cross your fingers!

WP_20160327_21_00_24_Pro

Tell me if I’m wrong, but…hang on, let me back up here.  Over the weekend, my brother finally cut up the MDF for me that I bought to make modular gaming boards.  Everything is multiples of 15cm-x-15cm.  I can cover my wife’s dining room table THREE times over…

Ok, so I felt it didn’t quite look right to have streets that you can’t park on.  Strictly speaking, it looked ok with actual HO scale cars, but with old Tootsies and most Matchbox, but it didn’t really look like it was intended for cars to park on it.  Reminded me of a lot of British roads.  Frikkin’ “two-lane” road that only one car can drive through and you still wind up losing a mirror on a parked car (true story).  I try to stick to Matchbox, as Hot Wheels are usually a tad too big, but sometimes you have to give a little. I don’t want my layout dominated by parking lots.  If I do a ‘Downtown’ game, it’ll look weird if the local businesses don’t have the illusion of adequate parking.  Yes, I do plan a parking structure, which should be great for a good fight.

So, as such, the sidewalks are now going to be on the building/house tiles and not on the road tiles.  That’s going to lead to new set of complications as I try to get the sidewalks to line up correctly.  I may just use a lot of ‘broken’ sidewalks.

Next up, I put together the first of 7 sections of Highway Overpass.  Can’t wait to paint one of these up!  Still trying to figure out how to make the ends look like they’ve broken off.

WP_20160327_20_59_58_Pro

Last up for today,  Atomic Bob has donated a large box of industrial buildings/vats/boxcars which bumps up the priority of a few factory tiles.  There’s a lot more, this is just 3 pieces I pried off some bathroom wall covering the previous owner was using as basing.

WP_20160327_21_11_37_Pro

Stay tuned, tomorrow I’ll post the results of the road manufacturing.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

